Saturday, April 12, 2014

Katie Rausch and Josh Bickel are 2013 ONPA POYs

Katie Rausch of The (Toledo) Blade and Joshua A. Bickel from ThisWeek Community Newspapers in Columbus are the ONPA News Photographers of the Year for their work in 2013. Rausch won in the large market category and Bickel won the small market category. Both are first time winners of the award.

Rausch has been with The Blade since 2012 and worked previously as a freelance photographer in Michigan and as a staff photographer at the Jackson (MI) Citizen Patriot. Rausch is a graduate of Michigan State University. Bickel is the chief photographer at ThisWeek Community Newspapers, a group of 24 weekly newspapers that ring the Columbus area. Bickel previously worked at the Casper (WY) Star-Tribune and Columbia (MO) Daily Tribune, and has masters degree in Journalism from the University of Missouri.

Familiar names fill out the remainder of the POY winners list as Lisa DeJong and Gus Chan from The Plain Dealer finished second and third in the large market category while Barbara Perenic and Bill Lackey from the Springfield News-Sun finished second and third in the small market category.

Best of Show - Jabin Botsford/Western Kentucky University
Southwestern high school cheerleaders walk up to receive their second place
trophy at the KHSAA Competitive Cheer Championships.
Jenna Watson from Kent State University won the Larry Fullerton Photojournalism Scholarship. Madison Schmidt from the University of Cincinnati placed second in the category.

Jabin Botsford from Western Kentucky University was awarded Best of Show in the contest for his entry, “Cheerleaders” and was also won the Student Photographer of the Year award. Botsford was an intern at The Columbus Dispatch during 2013. Alex Holt, from the University of Kentucky, placed second and Logan Riely, from Ohio University, won third.

Jenna Watson from Kent State University won the Larry Fullerton Photojournalism Scholarship. Madison Schmidt from the University of Cincinnati placed second in the category.

Kent State University student Jacob Byk won the James R. Gordon Ohio Understanding Award for his entry “Greene County” which told the story of how the coal country of Greene County, Pennsylvania has been affected by the booming natural gas industry.

Click here for complete results.

Friday, April 11, 2014

Ali Ghanbari wins 10th ONPA Televsion POY title

Ali Ghanbari from WJW-TV in Cleveland has won his fourth straight ONPA Television Photographer of the Year title and his tenth overall. In his career he has also won two Quarterly Clip POY titles.

Ghanbari placed in all but one category and captured first in general news, personality profile and 48 hours.

It was a competition dominated by WJW as photojournalists from Fox 8 in Cleveland captured four of the top five places in the Photographer of the Year competition. 

Annette Lawless from WJW placed second and Kris Sproles from WDTN-TV in Dayton placed third. David Bradford and Billy Muhammed from WJW placed four and fifth. WJW was also named as Station of the Year for the second straight year.

Click here for complete results with links to the winning videos.

Below is Ghanbari's first place personality profile winning story, "Happy Feet."

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Results from ONPA online photojournalism contest

The judges have started to speak and results from the ONPA year-end Online Photojournalism Contest have now been released. The quality must be improving as only one category was not awarded a full compliment of three places and awards of excellence were presented in several of the categories.

Carrie Cochran from the Cincinnati Enquirer swept the top three places in the feature video category, captured first in sports video and was part of the team entry submission which placed second.

Click here for a complete list of winners with links to the winning projects.
Still contest results will be posted as the judging progresses late Friday afternoon and through the day on Saturday.