Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Lisa Dejong is ONPA 2012 Clip Contest Photographer of the Year

While the final top ten standings were dominated with names of photographers from The Columbus Dispatch (six) it was Lisa DeJong from The Plain Dealer who came out on top to win the ONPA 2012 Clip Contest Photographer of the Year title.

DeJong trailed Kyle Robertson from The Columbus Disptach by ten points in the final month, but out scored Robertson by 40 points to win the title. Eric Albrecht from The Dispatch placed third in the competition. A model of consistency, Albrecht has placed in the top ten for nine consecutive years, and was clip POY twice previous to his top ten run.

The clip title is the first for DeJong in Ohio, who won portfolio POY titles in 2008, 2010 and 2011. Only five other photographers have won POY titles in both contests. Others to do so are Chris Russell  and Eric Albrecht from The Columbus Dispatch, former Plain Dealer photographer Dale Omori, Ed Suba Jr. from the Akron Beacon Jounral and former Blade photographer Alan Detrich.

2012 Top ten standings 
1st - Lisa DeJong, The Plain Dealer - 1124
2nd - Kyle Robertson, The Columbus Dispatch - 1194
3rd - Eric Albrecht, The Columbus Dispatch - 964
4th - Jonathan Quilter, The Columbus Dispatch -824
5th - Bill Lackey, Springfield News-Sun - 754
6th - Scott Heckel, The Repository - 664
7th - Barbara Perenic, Springfield News-Sun - 654
8th - Fred Squillante, The Columbus Dispatch - 614
9th - Chris Russell, The Columbus Dispatch - 562
10th - Eamon Queeney, The Columbus Dispatch - 482

Complete standings are under the Still Clip Contest tab on the ONPA website.

One item entrants need reminded of is that although clips are now entered electronically the photos must have been published in the publication's print edition or official website, of which there can only be one. Personal blogs and Facebook postings do not constitute as being published for the purposes of this contest. Questions concerning the electronic clip contest can be directed to contest chairmen Adam Cairns or Kyle Robertson.

Friday, February 8, 2013

Still contest deadline approaching

The deadline for the ONPA annual contest is fast approaching.

Enter contest now and renew your 2013 membership dues for only $50.00, a  $10.00 savings.  

You can pay online through the ONPA website clicking on the Renew tab and access the online renewal using PayPal. If you prefer you can send a check to:  Kimberly Barth, ONPA Treasurer, 44 E. Exchange Street, Akron OH 44328.

Don’t delay, still contest entries are due February 28, 2013.

Friday, February 1, 2013

Fullerton Scholarship entries now being accepted

Entries are now being accepted for the Larry Fullerton Photojournalism Scholarship. This year two scholarships are available, first place will receive $3,000 and the runner-up, $1,400. These funds will be deposited with the recipient's university bursar, to be used toward tuition and lab fees.

Larry Fullerton was a long time member of ONPA and both a photojournalist and assistant managing editor of the Hamilton Journal-News. The Larry Fullerton Photojournalism Scholarship was established at The Dayton Foundation through contributions from Larry Fullerton's family and friends to assist students pursuing careers in photojournalism.

This scholarship is not associated with the ONPA Student Photographer of the Year competition and eligible students need not be members of ONPA to qualify.

All entries must be received by Friday, February 28, 2013. Rules can be downloaded here and are available under the Contest Rules tab on the ONPA website.