Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Chan Lackey and Roussos win POY titles, students sweep major awards

Somebody finally opened the door for Gus Chan, from The Plain Dealer, who was chosen as the ONPA Photographer of the Year in the large market division for 2012. Chan has been persistently knocking on the door, placing second or third in the competition five times in the past seven years. Finishing second in large market division was freelance photographer Michael E. Keating from Cincinnati and third was Marvin Fong, from The Plain Dealer.

Bill Lackey, from the Springfield News-Sun took the top honors in the small market division. The title is Lackey’s third and he is the only photographer to win the small market title since the category was divided. Finishing second in small market division was Barbara Perenic from the Springfield News-Sun.

Meg Roussos from Ohio University was chosen as the ONPA Student Photographer of the Year with Hannah Potes from Kent State University placing second. Potes was also selected as the winner of the Larry Fullerton Photojournalism Scholarship with Steven Turville, from Ohio University placing second.

While the POY titles always get the attention, 2012 might be considered the year of the student in the 62nd annual contest. The number of entries from students was up significantly and they walked away with three major awards, including Best of Show, won by Chelsie Corso from Kent State University, whose first place feature winner Sisters took top honors.

Students also comprised much of the team from Kent State University that won the James R. Gordon Ohio Understanding Award for their entry Tiger Legacy, which explored the rich tradition of high school football in Massillon, Ohio.  Contributing photographers included: Gary Harwood, David Foster, Caitlin Bourque, Matt Hafley, Jenna Watson, Adrianne Bastas, Coty Giannelli, Jessica White and Chelsie Corso.

Ohio University’s Joel Hawksley won the Ron Kuntz Sports Photographer of the Year title. Hawklsey, who is now working at The Roanoke Times, also won second and third in sports picture story and placed second in the sports feature category.

Other notable wins by students include Brook Didonato from Kent State University who picked up two wins in the illustration category competing against Andrea Levy from The Plain Dealer, who sets a very high bar.

Abigail S. Fisher from Ohio University won first place in feature picture story and placed second in the audio slideshow category. Alexis Pfeifer from Kent State University won first place in the pictorial category.

The students not only entered, they attended the judging and brought some energy to the room. They obviously have talent and we probably haven’t seen the last of their names on a winners list.

Students will be the home team and host for next year’s judging and seminar, which will move from Columbus to Kent State University.

Click here for complete contest results  including links to galleries and winners in the Online Photojournalism contest.

No comments: