Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Drawing for ONPA member to attend Kent Multimedia Workshop

Renew your ONPA membership before Memorial Day and you will be eligible to win a spot in the Kent Multimedia Workshop, sponsored in part by the ONPA. The three-day, hands-on video and photography multimedia storytelling workshop will be held on June 14-16 in Franklin Hall on the Kent State University Campus.

 All 2012 dues paying members will be eligible for the drawing. The first name drawn from a hat will win the workshop registration, valued at $195. If unable to attend, ONPA will waive their 2012 contest fee and draw another name. We will draw up to three names. Visit onpa.org for more information on the workshop.

Associated Press Society of Ohio 2011 awards

Newspapers in Columbus, Canton, Sandusky, East Liverpool and Fremont were named the best in the state Sunday in the annual Associated Press Society of Ohio newspaper competition. General Excellence awards for 2011 went to The Columbus Dispatch, The (Canton) Repository, the Sandusky Register, The (East Liverpool) Review and The (Fremont) News-Messenger.

Best Photographer awards went to Chris Russell from The Columbus Dispatch, Craig J. Orosz from The Lima News, Nick Graham, Middletown Journal, James Miller from The Marion Star, and Julie Ames from the Coshocton Tribune.

Best Online Photojournalist awards went to Doral Chenoweth III from The Columbus Dispatch, William D. Lewis, The (Youngstown) Vindicator, Jason Werling from Sandusky Register, Sarah Gordon from the Ashland Times-Gazette and Jessica St. James, The Ironton Tribune.
Sixty-seven daily newspapers submitted 2928 entries in the contest, which featured news and sports stories, features, editorials, columns, graphics and photos from 2011.

Entries were judged by editors from The Washington (D.C.) Post, Division V The New York (N.Y.) Times Syndicate, Division IV the News-Enterprise, Elizabethtown, Ky., and the Kileen (Texas) Daily Herald, Division III The Dominion Post, Morgantown, W.Va., and The Statesboro (Ga.) Herald Division II and The Daily Times, Marysville, Tenn., and The Lake Sun, Camdenton, Mo., Division I.

Complete winners list available on the ONPA website.