Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Levy, Crow and DeJong Headliner Award winners

Andrea Levy, Chuck Crow and Lisa DeJong of The Plain Dealer are among the winners in the 77th annual National Headliner Awards, sponsored by The Press Club of Atlantic City, N.J..

Levy won first place for Illustrative Graphics. Crow placed third in Newspaper Sports Photography for his photo "Watch Out" and DeJong won third place in the Portrait category for her entry, “I'm Blessed”.

Click here for a complete list of winners

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Jeff Ritter is ONPA Quarterly Television Clip POY

In a very close race Jeff Ritter from WBNS-TV in Columbus has won the 2010 ONPA Television Quarterly Clip Contest Photographer of the Year title. It is the first clip POY title for Ritter, who has won the year-end POY crown the past two years. Ritter edged out last year's winner Steve Maguire, also from WBNS-TV and WJW's Billy Muhammed, who held the lead all year.

While the competition was close, overall participation has waned the past few years, with photographers from only two stations actively participating in the contest. That being the case this will be the final year for the Television Quarterly Contest, which was started in 1999.

Contest chairman David Bradford has all the winners online and can be viewed here.

Top Ten Standings
1st - Jeff Ritter, WBNS-TV, Columbus - 69pts
2nd - Steve Maguire, WBNS-TV, Columbus - 67pts
3rd - Billy Muhammed, WJW-TV, Cleveland - 64pts
4th - Scott Doelling, WBNS-TV, Columbus - 37pts
5th - Chris Reece, WJW-TV, Cleveland - 24pts

Friday, March 18, 2011

Dancing with a celebrity

Wanted to share a video of former ONPA member Doug Oster who recently competed in Dancing with the Celebrities of Pittsburgh. Oster was paired with dancer Cathy Kelly for the charity event.

And yes he is a celebrity in Pittsburgh. Between his work at the Post-Gazette, his garden blog , radio show, and regular appearances on local television outlets he's hard to miss.

But who knew he could cut a rug. And get good scores for it. The kid has really blossomed since he left Youngstown, although I'll never forgive him for that.

Russell wins fourth ONPA Clip POY title

Chris Russell of The Columbus Dispatch rallied in the final month and became only the second person to win four ONPA Clip Photographer of the Year titles. Russel won previouslly in 2006, 2004 and 1997.

Russell's win for 2010 came at the expense of co-worker Neal Lauron who finished second in the standings. Lauron had two wins in October, but only a 50 point lead going in, which wasn't enough to hold off Russell.

Russell racked up 192 points with five wins in October, which was the final month judged. That was the most points won in any one month all year in the contest.

As in the previous years contest only three papers cracked the top ten. The Columbus Dispatch had six photographers in the top ten, with the Springfield News-Sun placing three and The Plain Dealer with one, which was the third place overall winner, Lisa DeJong.

For the record keepers Jim Witmer, now with the Dayton Daily News, has won five clip titles, all while working at the Troy Daily News.

Final top 10 standings
1st - Chris Russell, The Columbus Dispatch - 1114
2nd - Neal C. Lauron, The Columbus Dispatch - 1044
3rd - Lisa Dejong, The Plain Dealer - 914
4th - Bill Lackey, Springfield News-Sun - 794
5th - Kyle Robertson, The Columbus Dispatch - 774
6th - Jonathan Quilter, The Columbus Dispatch - 634
7th - Marshall Gorby, Springfield News-Sun - 624
8th - Eric Albrecht, The Columbus Dispatch - 592
9th - Fred Squillante, The Columbus Dispatch - 564
10th - Barbara Perenic, Springfield News-Sun - 464

Monday, March 14, 2011

Convention and judging move to The Columbus Dispatch

It is clearly a year of change for the annual ONPA convention and seminar in 2011. This year’s event April 7-9 in Columbus will be combined with the still contest judging and be held at The Columbus Dispatch.

Still contest judging will begin Thursday evening and continue as long as needed on Friday. The speakers presentations will all be on Saturday. As in past years the Television and Online Photojournalism contest entries have been sent out for judging with results expected to be in hand before the event.

Speaking as well as judging the still contest will be Danese Kenon, Boyzell Hosey and Ross Taylor. Kenon's career has progresses from The Poynter Institute in St. Petersburg, FL to The Democrat and Chronicle in Rochester, NY to the Indianapolis Star, where she is currently working as a multimedia journalist.

Boyzell Hosey has served in several capacities at the St. Petersburg Times and promoted to director of photography in 2006. Prior to his move to Florida Hosey was a staff photographer at The State in Columbia, S.C. and the Lima News right here in Ohio and credits Ohio University VISCOM founder Chuck Scott for jump-starting his career.

Ross Taylor is a staff photographer at The Virginia-Pilot who previously worked at the Hartford Courant. Taylor is a former NPPA Region 1 POY and two-time North Carolina POY. Taylor has hugged the Taj Mahal, kissed a 70-year-old woman on Bourbon Street, and swallowed fire at a Coney Island Side Show class. He should feel right at home in Ohio.

Also on the speaking panel is Greg Bledsoe, a reporter and photographer for NBC San Diego. Bledsoe has won multiple national awards from the National Press Photographer's Association, including finishing as runner-up for the NPPA's National Solo Video Journalist of the year award. He is also a multi Emmy award winner for writing, editing and reporting. In 2010 Greg was honored with the Golden Mic for editing, and honored by the San Diego Press Club for reporting and photography.

With all activities combined this year officers are hoping there is enough cost savings to the organization to waive registration fees for all. Good news indeed in this day and age. There are several lodging opportunities within walking distance of the Dispatch available as well as a host of others in the surrounding suburbs. You can search on your own with this link. ONPA is hoping to obtain a convention rate for those attending at the nearby Residence Inn by Marriott at 36 E. Gay St.

More details on the schedule of events will be posted as soon as they become available.