Saturday, December 26, 2009

Still & Online Photojournalism Contest rules posted

Following the lead of National Press Photographers Association the Ohio News Photographers Association have created two divisions in the Photographer of the Year competition of the annual ONPA still contest.

Officers approved the idea that had been discussed during the business meeting at the annual convention. The POY category will be split into small and large market divisions, based upon daily circulation of under or over 100,000.

The creation of the small market division will give those working at these publications to have their portfolio's judged against those working under similar assignment and working conditions.

All other categories remain unchanged. There are however changes in entry preparation as they relate to caption fields so be sure to follow the new rules which have now been posted online and available to download.

The entry deadline is 6 pm, Friday, January 29, 2010. The judging will be Feb 19 - 20 at the Akron Beacon Journal. Directions and other judging details will be posted at a later date.

Contest rules for the Online Photojournalism Contest have also been posted and are available to download. Entry limits have been increased to five entires per publication in all categories. The entry deadline is Friday, January 29, 2010. Questions concerning the Online Photojournalism Contest should be directed to contest chairman Jonathan Quilter.

A reminder that you must have paid your 2009 dues to enter the contest. Those who did not pay their 2009 dues must pay for 2009 and 2010 to enter the contest. If you are unsure of your membership status contact ONPA Treasurer, Kimberly Barth.

Wednesday, December 16, 2009

NPPA September clip results

This is your monthly update as to the winning ways of the Springfield News-Sun in NPPA's Region 4 Monthly Clip Contest.

Points leader Marshall Gorby picked up two more wins in September and holds a 122 point lead over former ONPA member Matt Detrich of the Indianapolis Star.

Barbara Perenic from Springfield also had two wins in September and is currently in fifth place in the standings. Co-worker Bill Lackey is in eighth place.

Ohio based freelance photographer Gregory Drezdzon was a first place winner in the sports category in September.

September Results

Spot News
1st - Marshall Gorby, Springfield News-Sun, “Friend Killed”
2nd - Kelly Mackey, The State Journal, “POT”
3rd - Ken Stevens, The Muskegon Chronicle, “Rollover crash”

General News
1st - Matt Detrich, The Indianapolis Star, “Never Forget”
2nd - Barbara Perenic, Springfield News-Sun, “Pre-School Press Conference”
3rd - Charlie Nye, The Indianapolis Star, “A Docent View”

Feature/Single Picture
1st - Nathaniel Morgan, The Midland Daily News, “Pinball Wizard”
2nd - Aaron Borton, “Freedom Walk 2”
3rd - Ryan Garza, The Flint Journal, “Keeping an eye out”

Feature/Multiple Picture
1st - Aaron Borton, “Freedom Walk Louisville”

1st - Gregory Drezdzon, Drezdzon Photography, “No Letting Go”
2nd - Nathaniel Morgan, The Midland Daily News, “Huddle”
3rd - Barbara Perenic, Springfield News-Sun, “Head Save”

3rd quarter Illustration
1st - Ryan Garza, The Flint Journal, “Red Hat Style”
2nd - Cory Morse, The Muskegon Chronicle, “Gretchen Spoelman”
3rd - Marshall Gorby, Springfield News-Sun, “Heart Disease”

Point standings through September (does not include totals for July which have not been judged yet)
1st - Marshall Gorby, Springfield News-Sun - 622
2nd - Matt Detrich, The Indianapolis Star - 500
3rd - Ryan Garza, The Flint Journal - 450
4th - Cory Morse, The Muskegon Chronicle - 282
5th - Barbara Perenic, Springfield News-Sun - 280
6th - John Tully, Midland Daily News - 278
7th - Erik Holladay, The Jackson Citizen-Patriot - 252
8th - Bill Lackey, Springfield News-Sun - 242
Nathaniel Morgan, The Midland Daily News - 242
10th - Sarah Wright, Chillicothe Gazette - 212

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Year-end television contest rules now online

The annual call for entries for the year-end ONPA Television Contest has been made and contest rules are now available for downloading and can also be found under the TV Contest Archive tab on the ONPA Website.

Jeff Ritter from WBNS-TV in Columbus was last year's POY. Ritter is presently leading this year's quarterly contest, but the standings indicate that no one is going to roll over for Ritter to repeat.

Bill Reagan from WBNS is the year-end contest chairman and entries are to be in his hands by Friday, January 15, 2010.

Sunday, December 13, 2009

ONPA August clip contest results

The ONPA monthly clip contest results for August are in and posted on the ONPA Website.

Fred Squillante from The Columbus Dispatch had fives wins in August picking up 132 points. Squillante along with co-workers Eric Albrecht and Chris Russell are all in pursuit of points leader Marshall Gorby who had a second place win in Spot News in August.

The winners gallery will be posted as soon as all the images
are received.

Top Ten Point Standings
1st - Marshall Gorby, Springfield News-Sun - 586
2nd - Eric Albrecht, The Columbus Disptch - 472
3rd - Chris Russell, The Columbus Dispatch - 454
4th - Fred Squillante, The Columbus Dispatch - 452
5th - Bill Lackey, Springfield News-Sun - 416
6th - Lisa DeJong, The Plain Dealer - 342
7th - Tom Dodge, The Columbus, Dispatch - 336
Neal C. Lauron, The Columbus Dispatch - 336
9th - Barbara Perenic, Springfield News-Sun - 326
10th - Jeff Hinckley, The Columbus Dispatch - 296