Friday, September 11, 2009

ONPA June clip contest results

The monthly clip contest results for June are in and posted on the ONPA Website.

Neal Lauron, Lisa DeJong, Jeff Hinckley and Marshall Gorby each had multiple wins picking up 90 points each in June which resulted in a reshuffling of the top 10 points leaders in what is shaping up to be a very tight race for those in pursuit of Gorby.

Point standings show Marshall Gorby out in front with 480 points, followed by Eric Albrecht at 326, Chris Russell with 318, Bill Lackey with 300 and Tom Dodge with 290 and Lisa DeJong coming in a sixth with 288.

The winners gallery will be posted as soon as all the images are received.

Thursday, September 10, 2009

Stolen equipment alert

Columbus Dispatch photographer Courtney Hergesheimer is asking for help in keeping an eye out for some recently stolen equipment. Hergesheimer was broken into on Sunday night, the 6th, and reports that the thieves got away with pretty much everything electronic, including her 5D Mark II and a 24-105 lens.

The camera model is still back ordered online so if you see one in a pawn shop or online locally she would appreciate any help in checking the serial numbers which are 1020703476 and 1554671.

I suffered the same misfortune many years ago. It was not a pleasant experience so I'm sure she would appreciate your efforts in keeping an eye open for her. Hergesheimer can be rached via e-mail at

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Ohio SPJ winners announced

The Ohio SPJ awards for 2009 have been announced. The joint recognition competition is managed by the Central Ohio (Columbus), Cincinnati, and Cleveland pro chapters of the Society of Professional Journalists and honors the best of Ohio's print, broadcast, online, trade and college journalism.

Gus Chan of The Plain Dealer was named Best Photographer in the over 100,000 circulation class. Lisa DeJong of The Plain Dealer placed second. Jeffry Konczal from Suburban News Publications in Columbus was named Best Photographer in the under 100,000 circulation class. Chuck Humel of the Elyria Chronicle-Telegram placed second.

In the broadcast competition Byron Stirsman from WHIO-TV in Dayton was named Best Videographer in the major market class. Andy Wallace from the Ohio News Network placed second. There were no entries in the small market division.

The awards will be presented this fall in Cincinnati. The links below have results for all categories in the broadcast and print competitions.

Broadcast winners link